2021 Sales and Discharge dates for Lehi and the State of Utah:
June 24 – July 25
December 29 – December 31
2 days before and on the Chinese New Year’s Eve
Fireworks can be discharged between the hours of 11 a.m. and 11 p.m. except as noted:
July 2- 5 (July 4, hours extended to midnight)
July 22-25 (July 24, hours extended to midnight)
December 31 (hours extended to 1 a.m. January 1)
Chinese New Year’s Eve (11 a.m. to 1 a.m. the following day)
Restricted Areas in Lehi City:
2021 Firework Restriction Map
We are asking for your help to keep the community safe this year by sharing this important information about fireworks safety.
Fireworks are prohibited north of the Timpanogos Highway including Traverse Mountain, and along the Dry Creek Corridor from 1200 E to Center St.
Please, pay particular attention to safety recommendations and safety tips from manufacturers and retailers who sell fireworks. Reading instructions is very important and necessary to help reduce the chances of a destructive fire or debilitating injury.
Aerial fireworks sold in Utah retail stores are now legal. Aerial devices, also known as “multiple tube,” “repeater,” or “cake” fireworks often look like miniature professional displays and can travel high into the air, as much as 150 feet.
Still not allowed: firecrackers, M-80, cherry bombs, bottle rockets, Roman candles, single or re-loadable mortars, and ground salutes. You can be arrested for the use of illegal fireworks.
Here are a few safety guidelines
- You must be at least 16 years of age to handle or light fireworks.
- Fireworks need space from trees, carports, structures, power lines or other obstacles.
- New aerial fireworks are now lawful. Aerial or “cake” fireworks need to be on a firm, flat level surface and need at least a 30 foot clearance around on the ground and above in the air. Some need as much as 150 feet clearance in the air.
- Do not place a body part above or around a burning firework. Never pickup or throw a burning firework and never look into the tube or stay close to the device during ignition.
- Do not alter, change or experiment with makeshift or any firework device and do not allow others to violate the law.
- Should a firework misfire or not light, do not attempt to re-ignite. Let the firework cool for 30 minutes then place in a bucket of water.
- Do not shoot fireworks in windy conditions.
- Wear safety glasses when shooting fireworks.
- Children in Utah are burned each year by sparklers. The tip of a sparkler burns at a temperature of more than 1,200 degrees Fahrenheit, hot enough to cause serious burns that may require hospitalization.
- Children under the age of 12 should not use sparklers without very close adult supervision. Never hold or light more than one sparkler at a time.
- Teach children to hold a sparkler at arm’s length from their body and not to wave sparklers or run while holding sparklers. Stand at least 6 feet from another person while using sparklers.
- After a firework display, children should never pick up fireworks that may be left over, they may still be active.
- Use caution with animals. Excitement, noise and bright flashing lights can cause fear and stress.
Fireworks are an American tradition. Safety and common sense are so important as we celebrate the holidays with fireworks. Shooting fireworks can provide hours of wholesome family entertainment, but must be use carefully and safely. You may contact the Lehi Fire Department at 385.201.1081 with questions or visit the State Fire Marshal website.