Election Information

 2017 Lehi Municipal election information

The following positions are up for election in the 2017 Lehi City Municipal election:

  • Mayor – four year term (Jan 2018 – Dec 2021)
  • City Council – Two (2) City Council seats each with a four year term (Jan 2018 – Dec 2021)

Any resident who wants to run for office must fill out a Declaration of Candidacy Form and turn it into the City Recorder Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. June 1st through June 7th.

Thinking of running for office? Check out the information below:

2017 Election Guide

Submitting a candidate profile to the State’s Voter Information Website

Qualifications to run for office

1) Be a registered voter

2) Be a resident of Lehi City or a resident of an area recently annexed into Lehi City for a period of 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the date of the election

3) Pursuant to Utah Constitution Article IV, Section 6, any mentally incompetent person, any person convicted of a felony, or any person convicted of treason or a crime against the elective franchise may not hold office in this state until the right to vote or hold elective office is restored as provided by statute.

Important Dates

June 1-June 7Declaration of Candidacy filing period.  The Lehi City Recorder will accept Declaration of Candidacy  forms from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday-Friday.

July 25: Ballots are mailed to registered voters in Lehi

August 15: Primary Election Day (if necessary)

October 17: Ballots are mailed to registered voters in Lehi

November 7: General Election Day

For additional information please contact Marilyn Banasky, Lehi City Recorder, at (385) 201-2254 or e-mail her at

Vote By Mail

The 2017 Municipal election will be held using Vote By Mail. This means that registered voters in Lehi will receive a ballot in their mail box.  They will fill out their ballot, sign the envelope, and then just drop the ballot in the mail.  There is no need to put a stamp on the envelope as the Lehi City Council has opted to pay for the return postage.

Please ensure that your Voter Registration information is updated so that you will receive your ballot.  You can check your Voter Registration Information at Vote.Utah.Gov.  The post office does not forward election ballots.

There will not be early voting, but there will be a Vote Center on election day.

The Utah County Clerk’s office is administering this election.  For additional information contact them at 801-851-8128 or the Lehi City Recorder’s office at 385-201-2254.

What if I lose my ballot or didn’t receive one?

If it is before election day, please call the election office at Utah County (801-851-8128) to have duplicate ballot mailed to you.

Vote Center

On Election Day there will be a Vote Center at the Lehi City Administration Building, located at 153 N. 100 E.  Poll Workers will be available to receive ballots that have already been filled out, have been signed, and sealed in the envelope.

Poll Workers will also help registered voters vote Provisionally on election day if they have lost their ballot or didn’t receive a ballot.  If you need to vote on Election day at the Vote Center and don’t have the ballot and envelope that you were mailed, please bring your ID and two items that have your current address on it.  If your driver’s license has your current address on it, you need only bring one more item to verify your address.


Voter Registration Information

For Information on Voter Registration or what precinct a registered voter is in, visit the State of Utah’s web-site Vote.Utah.Gov. For additional election information, please contact Marilyn Banasky, Lehi City Recorder, at 385.201.2254 or e-mail at

© 2015 Lehi City · All Rights Reserved · An ADA 508 Compliant Website