LEHI JUSTICE COURT, UTAH COUNTY, UTAH
NOTIFICATION OF ENHANCEMENT-DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

Defendant: , Case No.

ELEMENTS
Class B Misdemeanor Assault 76-5-102: A person commits this offense if the person: (a) attempts, with unlawful force
or violence, to do bodily injury to another; (b) threatens, accompanied by a show of immediate force or violence, to do
bodily injury to another; or (c) commits an act, with unlawful force or violence, that causes or creates a substantial risk
of bodily injury to another.
Class B Misdemeanor Criminal Mischief 76-6-106: A person commits this offense if the person: (a) intentionally and
unlawfully tampers with the property of another and as a result recklessly endangers human health or safety; or (b)
intentionally damages, defaces, or destroys the property of another, if the actor’s conduct causes or is intended to cause
pecuniary loss of less then $300 in value.
Class B Misdemeanor Commission of Domestic Violence in the Presence of a Child (Child Abuse) 75-5-109.1: A
person commits this offense if the person commits an act of domestic violence in the presence of a child.
Class B Misdemeanor Damage to or Interruption of a Communication Device 76-6-108: A person commits this
offense if the actor attempts to or proceeds to prohibit or interrupt another person’s use of a communication device
when the other person is attempting to or has communicated a desire to summon emergency aid, and in the process the
actor: (a) uses force, intimidation, or any other form of violence; (b) destroys, disables, or damages a communication
device; or (c) commits any other act in an attempt to prohibit or interrupt the person’s use of a communication device to
summon emergency aid.

77-36-1(2): “Domestic Violence” means any criminal offense involving violence or physical harm or threat of violence
or physical harm, or any attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation to commit such an offense, when committed by one
cohabitant against another. “Domestic Violence” also includes, but is not limited to, the commission or attempt to
commit, any of the following offenses by one cohabitant against propert;y described in Title 76, Chapter 6, Part 1, 2, or
3; (9) discharge of a firearm from a vehicle, near a highway, or in the direction of any person, building, or vehicle; (h)
disorderly conduct, if a conviction of disorderly conduct is the result of a plea agreement in which the defendant was
originally charged with any of the domestic violence offenses described above; or (i) child abuse.

30-6-1(2), (3): “Cohabitant” means a person who is emancipated or 16 years of age or older who: (a) is or was a
spouse or was living as if a spouse of the other party; (b) is related by blood or marriage to the other party; (c) has one
or more children in common with the other party; (d) is the biological parent of the other party’s unborn child; or (e)
resides or has resided in the same residence as the other party. “Cohabitant” does not include: (a) the relationship of a
natural, adoptive, or step-parent to a minor; or (b) the relationship between natural, adoptive, step, or foster siblings
who are under 18 years of age.

ENHANCEMENT/PENALTIES
77-36-1.1: When an offender is convicted of any domestic violence offense in Utah, or is convicted in any other state,
or in any district, possession, or territory of the United States, of an offense that would be a domestic violence offense
under Utah law, and within a five-year period after the conviction commits or is convicted of a domestic violence
offense that is a misdemeanor, the offense charged and the punishment for that subsequent offense is enhanced by one
degree above the offense and punishment otherwise provided in the statutes described in Section 77-36-1. For purposes
of this section, a plea in abeyance is considered a conviction, even if the charge has been reduced or dismissed pursuant
to the agreement.

77-36-5(4): The court shall assess against the defendant any costs for services or treatment provided to the abused
spouse by the Division of Child and Family Services under, 62A-4a-106, and order those costs to be paid directly to the
division or its contracted provider.

URCTrP 11(g); 22(c)(2): If the defendant is convicted of, or pleads guilty, no contest, or guilty and mentally ill to, a
misdemeanor crime of domestic violence, it is unlawful for the defendant to possess or transfer any firearm or
ammunition.

Minimum/Maximum Sentences

Class B Misdemeanor: 0 days to 6 months jail $0 / $1882 fines and surcharges
Class A Misdemeanor: 0 days to 1 year jail $0 / $4650 fines and surcharges
Third Degree Felony: 0 days to 5 years prison $0 / $9275 fines and surcharges

I understand the foregoing Notification of Enhancement as explained here and as orally explained to me.

Date Defendant



